Remembering

The day before, Joann and I played golf together for the first time. We’d been talking about playing together, flirting with each other for months. But it wasn’t a date. It was a good day and many more with her would come. But not for a little while.

The next morning, that day, I got up felling good and went to the gym. Soon I noticed people weren’t exercising but instead were watching the TVs. Suddenly I wasn’t working out anymore either.

I don’t live in New York (though some of my family works in the City), D.C., or Pennsylvania. I don’t directly know anyone who died that day. But that day haunts me too.

Thanks to Fred Clark, I read 110 Stories by John M. Ford today. I highly recommend it to you. I don’t quite understand all the references in it, but that didn’t seem to matter. It’s power is clear. Here’s a look:

Some made it in a basement, so there’s hope.
The following are definitely known . . .
You live, is how you learn that you can cope.
Yes, I sincerely want to be alone.
Don’t even ask. That’s what your tears are for.

[read the rest]

May God bless us all, so that each one of us will be a blessing to others.

One thought on “Remembering

  1. Pingback: Who will we be? | All That I Can't Leave Unsaid

Comments, questions, funny anecdotes, brushes with greatness...?

